HomeAboutConferencesJoin ITEResources

Welcome to the Official Website of the Institute of Transportation Engineers (ITE) Midwestern District . This website is provided as a means of communication with members of ITE in the 11-state area of the midwestern United States and other transportation professionals.

Thanks for your visit!


2015 MWITE Award Winners

Student Chapter: University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Student Paper: Hani Remazzani (Unicersity of Illinois Urbana-Champaign)
Paper: Innovative Approach ot Reduce Fuel Consumption in Work Zones Using Speed Harmonization 2015 Rising Star Award: Mike Bittner, PE, PTOE, PTP
Section Activities: ILITE
Section Newsletter: NCITE
Section Website: NCITE


Operations: Highway 9 Fiber Optic – City of Norman, OK
Safety: Mt. Vernon US/Highway 30 – City of Mount Vernon, IA
Facilities: I-90 Tollway – Illinois State Toll Highway Authority


  • Micah Makaiwi

  • Raha Hamzeie

  • Shivraj Patil

  • Phani Gubbala

  • Matthew Lee


2015 Traffic Bowl: Iowa State
Student Posters:

  • Massoumeh Tavakol, Kansas State, “Analysis of Pedestrian Crash Risk Factors of Injuries and Fatalities in Kansas”

  • Vishal Reddy Sarikonda, University of Kansas, “Development of a Decision Matrix and Specifications for Portable Temporary Rumble Strips”


2016 Election

The 2016 Board Election is complete!
Congratulations to the 2016 MWITE Secretary/Treasurer
Mike Bittner (NCITE) and the 2016-2019 MWITE District Director John A. Davis (ITEWisconsin)!


2015 Annual Meeting

2015 MWITE Branson

2015 Annual Meeting Website

Smaller Rapid City Logo

2014 Annual Meeting Reflection

The 2014 Western/Midwestern Joint District Meeting in Rapid City, SD was a great success! We want to express to you our sincerest thanks for attending and especially to everyone who volunteered during the meeting and supported the planning effort the years leading up to this event. We had 600 total registrations (member, vendors, students, guests and children), nearly 1,400 people attending over 30 technical sessions, a sold-out vendor exhibit and over 500 unique web page hits per week, the meeting blew past our goals for participation and attendance.

Please make sure to complete the survey to share your thoughts. With conducting a join meeting this was the first time for several elements of the program. If there was something you thought was especially note-worthy you want to see Midwestern District include in our future meetings please let us know by contacting either Steve or Kristi or any of the other board members.

We should feel proud that our organization had the opportunity to "join together in friendly compact", to network and learn from each other, and to have a good time!


Steve Manhart, MWITE Co-Chair for the Joint District Meeting and Kristi Sebastian, MWITE President and Co-Chair for the Joint District Meeting


2014 MWITE Award Winners

Student Chapter Award Winner Student Chapter Award Winner

Meeting Co-Chairs: Randy McCourt, Steve Manhart

Student Chapter Award Winner

Student Chapter: University of Wisconsin-Madison

Section Award Winner

Section Activities: MOVITE

Newsletter Award Winner

Newsletter: ILITE

Website Award Winner

Website: NCITE

Collegiate Traffic Bowl Award Winner

Collegiate Traffic Bowl:
University of Kansas

Transportation Achievement

Operations Award Winner

Operations: City of Springfield & MoDOT — Project: Springfield’s Signal Retiming Project: An Interagency Partnership
(Eric Claussen - Spring Field Missouri, Kristi Sebastian - MWITE District President)

Safety & Facilities Award Winner

Safety: MoDOT — Project: Initiating a Corridor Approach to Improving Intersection Safety
Facilities: MoDOT — Project: Stan Musial Veterans Memorial Bridge
(Jeanne Olubogun - MoDOT, Kristi Sebastian - MWITE District President.)

Student Paper:
Kivanc A. Avrenl, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Poster Award Winner

Student Poster Winners:
Alireza Shams Esfandabadi, Kansas State University
Syeda Rubaiyat Aziz, Kansas State University

Meeting Leaders

Nick E., John Davis, Kristi Sebastian.

2014 Judges

Carrie, Rich, Sara.

John (Tex) Mick Shawn Leight

John (Tex) Mick, Shawn Leight - International ITE District Director Representative


2015 Annual Meeting

2015 MWITE Branson

2015 Annual Meeting Website


2014 Events

2014 Events Calendar

MWITE is pleased to announce 7 District participants accepted into the Inaugural LeadershipITE Class of 2014:

Carrie Falkenrath, P.E., PTOE, PTP (MOVITE)
Martin Gugel, P.E., PTOE (MOVITE)
Chad Hammerl, P.E., PTOE (ILITE)
Michael Hofener, P.E., PTOE (MOVITE)
Susan Paulus, P.E., LEED GA (ITEWI)
Andrew Swisher, P.E., PTOE (MOVITE)
Todd Szymkowski, P.E., PTOE (ITEWI)

Spring 2014 Newsletter is posted

Spring 2014 Newsletter


International Director - Shawn Leight
Past President - Todd Szymkowski (ITEWI)
President - Kristi Sebastian (NCITE)
Vice-President - Carrie Falkenrath (MOVITE)
Secretary-Treasurer - John Mick (ILITE)
Administrator - Thomas E. Campbell

Fall Newsletter

Fall 2013 Newsletter is now available on the newsletters page.

Check us out on Facebook

Join our group on LinkedIn


Toward Zero Deaths logo





Start a Local Chapter
Section Conferences


E-mail Reggie Chandra